Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: boarding school

boarding school

OK, I did it...sending Chili to boarding school for 10 days. It will be good break for me/wife and hopefully Chili will get some good training in along with a vacation(this place has pools). The timing of this 10 day separation will allow me to go on a vacation myself and attend the balloon fiesta in ABQ. The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta - Welcome to the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta Hopefully I get some decent pics and eat some great food. I think Im sold on the idea of Chili learning some manners from some professionals(even tho he has been pretty good). I want him to be better here is the link to the place: Dog Boarding Manners Institute | Albuquerque | Enchantment Pet Resort would love to hear from others if they ever boarded their dogs
    Amateur pet owner
    Hidden Content
    Chili born 7/21/2013

Best Friend Retriever xracer4844's Avatar
    I have some experience with boarding. I don't board my dog as he is allowed to come with me, but my trainer boards a lot of dogs. Most of the people come and take their dogs away and don't notice a difference because they didn't do the training. The dog also doesn't always understand that what they were "taught" applies to YOU as well. To them - you are back and they are happy to go back to their old ways.

A lot of people that send their dogs away for "professional" training usually don't have any idea how to handle their dogs when they return. It depends a lot on the duration your dog is away, what they are being taught, and how they are being taught. It's something that you will need to continue at home if it is going to stick.

3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to xracer4844 For This Useful Post:

Charlotte K. (09-30-2014), Meeps83 (10-01-2014), voodoo (09-30-2014), windycanyon (09-30-2014)