advice for quicker response with commands

Murphy (7 1/2 months) is doing very well with his training and obedience. He has gone to puppy kindergarten, basic obedience and now beyond the basic obedience classes. He follows his commands, has a great stay, good manners and loves to please. He amazes me every day. His personality is very laid back and more a couch potato but he enjoys his training sessions and is very motivated with treats. I am new to this and need some help. Does anyone have any suggestions how I can make him obey his commands quicker? For example, I tell him "down" and he looks at me, thinks about it, starts to go down, then scoots a little more forward on the floor, then waits a second, then lays down. Same with sitting, I tell him to sit, he has to look at me for a few seconds, think about it, looks at me again then sits. He doesn't do that all the time but enough where I would like him to react a little quicker. Don't get me wrong, I am thrilled with all he has accomplished and so proud of him but.....How can I get him to follow commands without hesitation? He does what I say, just in his own time. Is it just patience on my part or are there any tips anyone can share? Thanks.
    Hidden Content
    Murphy born Valentines Day 2014

He may be unsure of what you really want or insecure, possibly a worrier.

How do you ask him to sit or down? Do you say it in a scolding way? Some people are all, "DOWN!" or "SIT!" and it makes their dogs think that maybe they are in trouble so they second-guess themselves and what they are supposed to do. If that is the case, you need to readjust your training. Linus is a worrier and I am taking private lessons to learn how to work with him better and increase his confidence. Most of this is with games and seriously positive reinforcement. I'm not even allowed to say "eh-eh!" anymore!

How do you let your dog know that he's not doing what you want?

Do you play a lot of obedience games?