Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talk to me about banking and investments......

I'm a physical therapy grad student so I have pretty much no knowledge of how to safely invest money. I'm asking family members for their input but it's always better to hear more options.

So let's just say you have a little under $20,000 to do with as you wish. My plan is to touch it as little as possible until I am in a location where I want to buy a house. What is the best way to get return on the money in a safe manner? The stock market scares me a bit.

There is a local bank with a high yield checking with a 0.75% interest rate and a A.P.Y. of 0.75. It says it is compounded monthly and there is a maximum balance of $25,000. Sounds pretty good to me. Is there a downfall to this? I assume I have to make a minimum number of transactions per month with this one. This is the highest interest rate I have found so far.

What about mutual funds? Could I make more with these? I need these explained to me in a really dumbed down way.

Any other ideas would be greatly appreciated!

If you have student loans, use the money to pay them off. If you have any other debt (credit cards, car), pay it off.

Mutual funds are good. You want a diversified balance. Vanguard is good.
    Hidden Content
    Sarah, human
    Luna, born 6/14/13, gotcha 8/18/13 and TDI certified 5/12/2015
    Comet, born 4/3/15, gotcha 6/9/15
    Double Dip, 25 y/o Draft/Welsh pony
    Gracie, 17 y/o DSH cat
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content

3. The Following User Says Thank You to doubledip1 For This Useful Post:

LabsN'Hounds (10-07-2014)

I forgot to mention that I have no other debt. I'm very lucky in that sense.