Sibling rivalry?

This is my first time having two younger dogs at the same time. Sam is 4 and Linus is about 18 months. Sam was neutered at the age of two and Linus is intact. I have noticed that over the past few months, Sam will sometimes get really riled up and grab Linus' neck skin (there's lots of it) and really pull him around. Very rarely does Linus cry and when he does, Sam lets go (and looks at me like, "uh oh ... I didn't do it!").

There's also some body slamming, rolling, etc. which tends to be pretty rough. Not aggressive but too much, if that makes sense. Things get loud with Sam and he sounds like an angry bear. When he was younger he acted a little bit like this, not as much, toward my friend's dog who he started playing with as a puppy. As he got older, he got rough and occassionally bullied until she "told him off" and that was that.

Linus does not tell Sam off and he does go back for more, though when Sam is really going after him Linus will sometimes submit or run behind mom. His neck is covered in little scabs and he developed a hot spot over the summer from Sam. They are both nearly 100 lbs so at least they are equally matched, but Sam does tackle Linus often and I worry. I do think it bothers me more than it bothers Linus.

When it started I would tell Sam to be gentle and now he doesn't really listen when he gets in this zone, so I will leash him up (it always happens off leash, like on a hike or when they are swimming or at the beach and sometimes in the yard) and put him in a time out. It doesn't seem to have made much of a difference unless I am right there.

Thoughts?

I will be interested what others think but it sounds like they are playing and Sam gets a little too riled up. I would say if he is getting too rough, stop the game and get Sam to calm down.