Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Murphys First AGILITY trial

Murphy and I have been training in agility since last April. I think we are ready for our first competition which is coming up Dec. 12-14. Yeah, I'm scared!!!! I'm pretty sure Murphy is going to run around like a crazy dog and not come back to me when called. Basically, I'm preparing for the worst possible scenario, so if any better happens, it is a success!!!

So, I come to you my dear lab friends, any words or wisdom for a first timer here? Murphy is my very first dog, so this is all very new to me. Do you have a checklist that you use when going to competitions? For example, some told me to always bring an extra leash and collar in case one breaks. Any advice to take the worries out of this would be greatly appreciated!!!

We really are having a lot of fun with this and I hope it continues.

Thanks!

good luck! i haven't gone to an agility trial so no advise

Can give you any advise as I've got no experience with agility but I wish you good luck

My advice, both of you have fun. Whatever happens, it's a learning experience.

The 14th is soon!!! Good luck!

I would do a lot of heal work at the trial before his turn with treats to get him focussed on you, maybe practice a trick routine - helps him focus.

Use the practice jump, and make sure you give a cookie for every time he jumps it, I practice start line stays on the practice jump every time.

Be sure to start the routine of treats before his turn, and treats immediately after, or a game of tug, or sometime which is super special to him (absolutely immediately after his turn). This gives the dogs a good purpose to finish the course and want to be leashed up quickly .... I use Lunds/Bayleys $5 Cluck and debone and freeze into small containers for trials.