Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bird Dog Training - Need Advice

So I think I have decided to send Chopper to sporting dog training. My only reservation is being without him for 10 weeks, but I think I can get through that issue. I get to train with him on the weekends. My plan is to send him to Central Oregon Sporting Dog:

Central Oregon Sporting Dog located in Bend Oregon

I have decided to train him for the pointing dog program:
    Pointing Dog Program (age 6 mos. to 1 yr.).............................$2,400.00
    • Here
    • Whoa
    • Whistles
    • Point instinctively
    • Steady to wing

• Heel
    • Quarter on command
    • Gun introduction
    • Retrieve instinctively
    This trainer has excellent ratings and is considered one of the best in the Pacific Northwest. Is this a fair price? I have a lot of experience hunting upland game birds such as quail, chukar and pheasant, but never hunted with my own bird dog. Therefore, I'm leaning towards the pointing dog program over the retrieving dog program. I have no experience duck hunting, but I would love to give it a try. There is plenty of opportunity for this kind of bird hunting in the Oregon area. Should I consider the retriever/flushing program?

Retriever/Flushing Dog Program (age 6 mos. to 1 yr.).............................$2,400.00
    • Here
    • Sit
    • Whistles
    • Flush
    • Marking
    • Hand Signals
    • Heel
    • Quarter on command
    • Gun introduction
    • Retrieve instinctively
    • Casts