Sounds wild outside.

It turns out that we got ten feet of snow total in about a month. Most of it was really light so now that we have some direct sunlight, it's compacting. We had a warm day and it created a fairly deep crust on top of these very high snow banks. Now it's really cold out but the sun is hitting the snow and everything is crackling. I went out to get chicken feed and the ground is making this wild sound. I've never heard anything like it.

Senior Dog
    Never heard it with landbound snow/ice but the ice on the lake sounds a lot like whales calling sometimes....long burps and trills.

The are called ice quakes. We had them here a couple of days ago. They said it is when the ground freezes too fast and the earth underneath contracts (or something like that, I'm not good with the scientific stuff. Lol).
    “Don't allow your happiness to be interrupted by overly judgmental people. The problem is not you, because even if you do good all the time, they would still find a way to judge you wrongly.”
    Hidden Content

Hidden Content

Hidden Content

4. The Following User Says Thank You to beth101509 For This Useful Post:

SunDance (02-24-2015)

Quote Originally Posted by janedoe View Post
    It turns out that we got ten feet of snow total in about a month. Most of it was really light so now that we have some direct sunlight, it's compacting. We had a warm day and it created a fairly deep crust on top of these very high snow banks. Now it's really cold out but the sun is hitting the snow and everything is crackling. I went out to get chicken feed and the ground is making this wild sound. I've never heard anything like it.