Thread: Rotation Diet

Rotation Diet

How do you know if it's "working" for your dogs? I have been rotating foods for over 6 months now.

Rocks weight is good. his bloodwork was good the last time we did it (april?) and we'll keep monitoring that.

Penny's gained lots of muscle (she normally does during the summer) and slimmed down. Her weight is up (due to muscle I assume as she isn't fat!). her energy is good. But her coat is - meh. shedding like a maniac (I know shedding is normal but this year has been non stop and much much more than last year). Maybe I should add a supplement for that? (fish oil or coconut oil or sardines).

I figured if I didn't see a sign the food was not working then it was working. With our three food rotation poop output didn't change, nor did coat, appetite, energy or weight. I did have the advantage of a food that was working fine in the first place to compare to. There was one small exception, the grain free food was a bit lower in kcal/cup and I saw weight loss in one week so had to up the amount I fed of it. And in winter I had to feed even more of it, making it a more expensive food for us. I did keep the three foods close in protein, fat and kcal/cup with that one exception, which was not great, but it still made a difference.

ETA: Rotated three different brands and three completely different main protein and main carb and one was grain free, no difference other than that weight loss.
    Last edited by Snowshoe; 08-17-2015 at 11:56 AM.

We saw a big difference in eye boogers, ears, coat, and poops. Bacon has been doing very well on his Fromm Rotation. However, this was a big change from us--from our breeder's food which was a chicken based food, and Bacon doesn't tolerate chicken well at all.
    Julie & Jake, Bacon's Humans

Instagram: @mrbaconthelab

Born: 9/02/13

Gotcha: 11/08/13

Hidden Content

In memory of Lily 1/1995 - 2/2/2012

Hidden Content