Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    House Broken

Fun with shaping!

So, I'm new to using shaping as a training method, but for the last week have been spending just a little time every evening playing the "101 Things to do with a Box" game with my lab. I don't have a goal for him to learn anything specific, and just mark and reward whatever he does with the box just to encourage him to think independently, and to get creative with his ideas. Because he isn't used to this, he gets a little stuck, and will sometimes just start rapidly offering behaviors in attempt to figure out what I'm rewarding. So, last night, he got a reward for putting his head in the box. He then looked at me and spun in a circle, sat, laid down, rolled over, stood up, then did what we call the "itch" trick where he uses his front paw to do what looks like scratching an itch on his nose. However, in all his excitement, he does the itch trick fast, and rather sloppy, so his paw slides off his nose, and on the way down he kicks the box across the floor. Well, he touched the box... so I marked it, rewarded it and threw a little party, he then races over to where he kicked the box, kicks it again, and runs back for his reward. He raced back and forth kicking the box and getting his treat several times, then raced back, BUT turned around and kicked at the box with his back feet. He just looked at me withthat labby smile as if he was thinking "now what do you think of THAT?!" Of course that earned a big reward, but even before the reward came, I knew he was just sooo thrilled with himself... I was pretty thrilled too though! It might sound small, but really that was a big step of thinking outside the box for him (pun intended-- hahaha)!

So now I'm wondering what silly little things other dogs may have done while working with shaping, and for anyone else who hasn't tried it yet, I so encourage trying, because it has just been so fun for me and for my dog!

So much fun!