Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Going to my first dog show! Tips?

This weekend I'll be heading out to the Labrador Owners Club specialty with the breeder we've chosen for our next pup. I'm quite excited! She's offered to mentor me and teach me some things as I'd love to dabble in a bit of showing with my new guy when he comes next year.

I'm a horse person, so the show environment is nothing new to me, the early mornings, long days, lots of work, etc., no problem.

Are there any insider tips I should be aware of? I know at a horse show if you wear anything but closed toe shoes you totally reveal yourself as not knowing much - getting stepped on by a horse happens all the time. Are there similar giveaways at dog shows of a total newb? Do they go really late into the day? (it's not unheard of to still be at a horse show well into the evening).

I'm packing a lunch, but should I bring money for other things - like will there be shopping? I'd love to bring home a present for Archie. How can I really make the most of the day?

Sooo many labbies in one place. I'm excited!
    Laura, Archie & Quinn
    Hidden Content

Have done this many times. Have several local friends who are breeders and love to go to the shows. Those who show dress nicely as a show respect to the judges. I usually go in a nice pair of pants, blouse and jacket since I'm not going into the ring. I wear comfortable shoes that match the pants, i.e. black Sketchers or similar with black pants.

Mostly I keep my mouth shut and ears open. Amazing how much there is to learn by really listening. I'll ask questions when the breeder is not busy.

Yes, take money. There are some fantastic vendors usually available and to get a cold drink or a special treat.

In a multi or all breed show, labs usually show early in the morning. If your dog is a winner, then yes, the day can be long waiting for winners dog, winners bitch, BIS.