Thread: Blue Apron

Has anyone tried one of these home delivery meal services? My BIL got us a two week subscription to Blue Apron for Christmas. I've really enjoyed the meals and they have been easy and fun to cook. We even decided to continue the deliveries. I'm a decent cook but usually stick to our favorite dishes. Since we don't eat out much, Blue Apron has given us a nice variety at dinner time. On the menu this week is Korean Tteok and spicy Pork Ragu, Buffalo chicken sandwiches and seared salmon and salsa verde. I'm trying to figure out which meal to cook tonight. The deliveries come with every ingredient you need to make your dish except for salt, pepper and olive oil so you don't even have to go to the grocery store. BIL is trying Plated to compare. Plated costs a bit more but you can choose your meals. Blue Apron sends you meals based on your preferences so it's a surprise.
    Hidden Content
    Sam and Frank

My friend sent me a link to do a free trial of Plated. My box arrives Tuesday and I'm excited to try it. If we end up liking it I might try Blue Apron as well.

That sounds like a really fun thing to try. I hate deciding what is for dinner, lol! Sticking with the same things can be boring.
    Hidden Content

Tammy
    Maxx and Emma Jean

Ozzy - 10/2002 - 06/2011 - Rest well my sweet boy. You are forever remembered, forever missed, forever in my heart.

I love this idea, but it's a little spendy. However, I find that I do make a lot of waste (veggies and fruit that never got eaten or meat that is past the expiration date -- oops!). Now that I have chickens and my dogs eat raw meals occasionally, at least I can give them the stuff that is too far gone for me to eat yet not "poisonous". I should do a cost comparison...