Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Therapy Dogs

Puppy

Therapy Dogs

To those of you who have therapy dogs, how often do you visit nursing homes, etc? Do you set up a schedule...is there a general rule of thumb on this? Do you have more than one facility that you visit? I am just beginning this with my dog and would appreciate any advice. Thanks!

We have scheduled visits four times a month with three different facilities.

The organization you go with will guide you on that. Here the only one with insurance for me and my dog would schedule once a week visits with a client. After assessing my dog they would decide which client it would be. It wouldn't necessarily be someone in a nursing home. I was already visiting retirement and nursing homes where my Mum and Aunt were and since I'm family did not need a therapy dog designation (though the insurance aspect might have been nice) so did not follow through.

BE sure you check out the insurance. When I was looking into it the lady advising me said her dog had been poisoned by a resident slipping a medication to her dog. All the dog suffered was a day of lethargy. There's also the chance of your dog hurting, or it's claimed to have hurt, someone you are visiting. You might want to check into your own public liability to see if coverage should be added.
    Hidden Content

Castilleja's Dubhgall Oban, the Black Stranger of The Little Bay
    Oct. 15, 2007 - June 13, 2021
    Oxtongue Rapids Park. Oct. 2019 Hidden Content

Is your dog already licensed? As above, your local group will be able to advise on this.

My pup is 7 months old, so too young to be licensed, but she's been in a puppy therapy class, and we continue to work w/ the trainer who recommended such.

Snowshoe—that is horrible about a resident poisoning a dog. How frightening!
    Hidden Content Hokule'a ("Hoku") / b. 06.08.15

Quote Originally Posted by Abulafia View Post