Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    House Broken

New puppy + 2 year old dog

Hello all -

This is my first time posting on this forum, but I've been reading threads / lurking for a few months now. We have a 2 year old male lab, Jackson, who is the sweetest love you could imagine. We recently moved out to the countryside, so while our dog has lots of room to run, he sees fewer dogs than when we lived in the city (San Fran - dog parks everywhere). We were thinking of getting him a baby brother (of the 4-legged variety) so he has a play buddy. FWIW, our dog is well-socialized, loves other dogs and fairly energetic (typical 2-year old lab energy). The new furbaby would come from the same breeder, who we like and trust, so we're comfortable that we're getting a pup with a good temperament.

Since everyone on this board seems to have a wealth of information and experience with multiple dogs at home, I thought I'd ask everyone for their best advice when it comes to introducing a puppy to another dog at home. Anything we should be concerned about / take care to pay attention to? We've already upgraded our vacuum to a Dyson, so we have the extra fur covered. Thanks in advance!

He sounds like he'd be an excellent big brother. We are getting a pup this weekend and introducing him to our 8 year old female. I can't really give you any advice on an introduction because I feel like we're kind of winging it. Our breeder recommended walking them together, not where they were touching but so that they could see each other. A lot of the articles I read recommended introducing the between chain link fences so that they couldn't hurt each other. I think we'll end up doing a mix of things and just taking it at our older dog's pace so that she's comfortable with the transition.