Now for something completely simple-minded...

So, I've been at mom's in another city for 6 days. Rocket Dog was on the pro's truck/kennel so she got training while I was away. However, the training group cannot get together today and so I was on my own.

I am new to this whole "drill" thing. To be honest, after our dogs are through with transition... boom... all the training occurs in the field. I'm not gainsaying the approach because there are some splendid dogs on that truck who are totally capable of going to the MN this year. And there are some senior dogs who are coming along just great. But the drills, in my view are as much for me as they are for Rocket Dog.

So today was Sesame Street for retrievers. If we were going to name it, it would be called the Piece-o-Cake Drill. I'm almost embarrassed it was so simple.

-piece-cake-drill-jpg

White flags. White bumpers. I wanted it to be as easy as possible... to start with. We are lining up behind the white gutters. After putting everything out, I returned to the line and realized it was a very, very tight arrangement. But, the park has that narrow waist, so...

What I learned today: I totally got a good look at her "I'm-on-this-like-ugly-on-ape" expression and body posture. In the field, I have been unable to determine what she was telling me. So she locked onto the center flag... fine, I sent her. Then she wouldn't "unlock" and look at the flag on the right. So we walked out to it, showed her what/where it was... went back... then, no problem. That fine line turned out to be quite useful since I was able to interpret some very small shifts in her eyes/head/spine.

So that was our 30 minute training session (including set up.) It was worth that amount of time, I think.

Senior Dog