Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lawn fertilizer that is safe for dogs

Hey everyone. This is my first year as a homeowner, and a dog owner. I'd like to have a nice looking lawn, but I'm not sure what product I can use that is okay for Penny. What's a good fertilizer you've had luck with that I won't have to worry about it irritating her skin or her trying to eat some? Thanks!

Senior Dog
    My husband isn't allowed to put anything on our grass because of the dogs.

BUT...I have experience with organic fertilizer for potted plants, landscaping, etc. My advice is definitely DO NOT go organic. It smells bad...which means good to foul stench rolling-in dogs. Trust me on this one!

I have used Milorganite corn based fertilizer in the back yard where the dogs go and have had no problems. It says it's safe for kids and pets. Keep in mind, I have adult dogs, not puppies picking up everything.

Like Sundance said, some of the organic can have a strong odor but I've found that it only lasts a couple of days. If you spread before predicted rain, the odor dispels quicker.
    Hidden Content
    Kissing Bandit

Chicken poop!

I fertilize and immediately water in well, however, I have a nice irrigation system... so my recommendation would be to put it down right before a big rain is coming in the midwest if you do not have an irrigation system.

Fertilizer itself is nothing that worries me personally. I probably fertilize on average 3-4x per season here in WA and have not had a problem since I can water it in well right after. My hay field (aka doggy playground) needs to be fertilized very soon also since it wasn't last year due to the extreme drought.

Granular products can be caustic to the dog's feet/skin if they walk or lay in it but there are liquid ones as well that some of the landscape companies use.

Anne (BS/ MS Horticulture)
    Hidden Content
    The WindyCanyon Girls (taken Summer 2018)
    IntCH WindyCanyon's Northern Spy CDX RA JH OA OAJ CC (14.5 yrs)