Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Life with A Lab Over 10

I see so many of our beloved pups leaving us between the ages of 10-13 (and the lucky few who make it to a lovely 14-16 years of age). I find myself on pins and needles since Rocky turned 10, current health issues aside (he turned 12 yesterday). I try to live in the moment, keep him comfortable and happy and ENJOY these days with him. But I find myself constantly waiting for the other foot to drop. It's my first time living with a senior dog like this (on my own, for our family dogs I was in and out of the house when the dogs were seniors and I was not around at the end). I think things like "this might be his last birthday". "this might be his last summer". I don't want to think like that but i do.

I find myself wanting to ask questions i don't want to ask. Like...how exactly does one go about putting their baby to sleep when the time does come. I mean the actual technicalities.getting there, what room they use, do i bring penny, what happens when i leave the room, what happens to the body, what's the cost, will i want someone with me or to be alone (I am single). But while I feel i prefer to know "ahead of time" I also really don't want to talk about it per say.

This end of dog ownership is much harder than I expected. I wasn't ready for it. I guess no one EVER is though.

I don't have any advise, but I totally get how you are thinking this way. Tux is my first dog ever, he'll be eight in August and I already find myself having panic attacks when I think about him getting older, and having to think about those type of things. Really have to just try and live in the moment, after all that is what our dogs do!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to shellbell For This Useful Post:

MontananDakota (04-28-2016)

Senior Dog