Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I am so freaking nervous!

I have been training dogs (my own) for several years, reading a lot, doing some work with local rescues, etc. and when I've taken a break from classes, I always work with my dogs at least on the basics. Over the past year or so, I decided to really get into it. I have been taking classes two to three times per week and a private lesson here and there. I also go to matches with local dog training clubs all the time, and there is plenty of advice and help there (whether I want it or not ). I practice at home as well.

After several really good runs at matches I decided to enter a trial with both dogs. My trainer said that we were ready and others have suggested that we enter. But now that I'm getting close, the dogs are putting their own spins on things and are suddenly having more bad days than good.

Before the trials I have two matches, a private lesson, and two additional classes.

In class last night someone told me that one of the judges was really tough and her words of advice were to "know my stuff".

Any words of advice or encouragement?

It's good to have the bad days ahead of time. Then you can learn how to handle them. Probably everyone is going to tell you the same thing, just try to calm down and remember you are doing this for fun. Try to treat it as just another class to learn from, which you will no matter how well you do. Dogs are human, they have good and bad days too, just go with the flow, try to relax and do the best you can for the dogs. Have fun, really, try to have fun.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Snowshoe For This Useful Post:

Charlotte K. (06-13-2014)

Quote Originally Posted by Snowshoe View Post